Great college football weekend.

Of course we have (7) Georgia vs. (13) LSU, which should be a great game. I am not sure why Georgia is not getting much love. I guess because of they stunk up the joint against Alabama, and they barely put away Vanderbilt. I think you can excuse the ‘Bamma game as being cocky and overconfident; the “Black Out” crap if you will. Plus Alabama played a great game. The Vandy game had to be a look ahead to LSU and Florida. According to The Online Wire

“The line opened with LSU favored by 3.5 on the point spread earlier this week but even though the betting public is split on whom to put money on, the line has moved down which likely means someone “in the know” likes Georgia as well.”

I think Georgia wins outright by 10; say 27-17.

SEC 75th Anniversary Logo
In other SEC action …
  • (10) Florida easily over Kentucky at the Swamp.
  • Mississippi St. invited Middle Tennessee St. to Scott Field for a scrimmage. Could the Sun Belt pull down a nice upset? Not today.
  • Vanderbilt invited Duke to town to help them qualify for a bowl game for the first time in forever. The Commodores ends the day 6-2 and bowl eligible.
  • Mississippi visits Arkansas, but will anyone notice? Ole Miss wins just because I have to make a pick.
  • Tennessee hosts (2) Alabama. This seems to be a popular upset special, but I do not see it.

Another big game that I am really interested in is (6) Oklahoma St vs. (1) Texas. It sucks that the Georgia and Texas games are on at the same time, but I guess I will have to flip channels between commercials. I am expecting another Texas shoot out. When did the Big 12 become all WAC and no defense? I think a lot of folks want Texas to stumble in order for Penn St, USC, or God forbid, Ohio St. to sneak back into the National Championship picture. Good grief!

Speaking of Big Ten suckiness, Prime Time on ABC features (3) Penn St vs. (9) Ohio St. This one wants to make me throw up. Do I pull for the Nittany Lions, which means they go to the National Championship game despite a super weak schedule? I think I would rather stab my eyes out than root for the Buckeyes. If Ohio St wins, at least they have already shown they should not be a title contender. Would voters really give them a third crack at this thing? Shoot me now.

Go Dawgs! Hook ’em Horns! Happy Saturday!

Share

Auburn in complete disarray.

Auburn HelmetI never thought I would see the day when I graced the pages of this site with something Auburn related. Then again, I never thought I would see the day when Auburn football was in shambles, and total disarray.

Obviously former offensive coordinator Tony Franklin was not the problem. After Tommy Tuberville sacked Franklin, the Tigers proceeded to take it on the chin against lowly Arkansas, 25-22. Ouch.

Last night Auburn lost to West Virginia 34-17. It is bad enough that they lost to a Big East team (WTF is that conference worth anyway), which makes the SEC look bad, but it is the way the Tigers lost. Up 17-10 at the half, Auburn decided to give up 24 unanswered points in the second half. Seems like a total ass kicking to me; not even sure how Tuberville can put a decent spin on this one.  The most disappointing stat for Auburn fans has to be 204 total yards punting. Good grief.

Auburn is now 4-4 and looks to somehow salvage their season with a 7 wins an a minor bowl invitation, but it is not going to be easy with games remaining at Mississippi, Tennessee-Martin, Georgia, and at Alabama. Ole Miss is not as shitty as usual (they did beat the Gators), Tennessee-Martin will be a nice scrimmage, Georgia is far too strong to fall into a Tiger trap, and this is finally the year that the Tide will Roll over Auburn.

Auburn fans, can you say hello to a 6-6 season? I thought you could. I am not sure if Tuberville can escape this mess, which is too bad because the man seems like a quality person and a great coach. These days, its too bad one down year gets you ran out of town.

Share

Now drinking. Not Zima.

So Zima has officially been put out of its misery; well almost.

MillerCoors LLC has stopped brewing Zima because of “challenging” sales and “declining consumer interest” in the flavored malt beverage segment, according to a statement by Andy England, chief marketing officer. The last bottles of Zima will likely be shipped to the brewer’s wholesale distributors in December.

Zima Beer Bottles

Except for people like me and this dude posting stupid stories about Zima, I do not think anyone will care that Zima is done.

Man, if I only had a nickel for every Zima I’ve downed, I’d have 15 cents. That’s right, I’ve managed to choke down smoothly enjoy three ice-cold, refreshing Zimas. The last one was right before entering a high school dance. (Note to high school males reading this: Nothing says “manliness” to your date like chugging a Zima too quickly and then throwing half of it back up in your mouth.)

I am not saying I am proud or anything, but I would probably be closing in on a buck seventy-five.

At any rate, I am not drinking Zima.

Share

Weekend Shooting with the R1. Chipmunk surprise.

I spent some time this weekend shooting with the R1, and have posted some pictures for your viewing enjoyment. There is a nice (non graphic) shot of a chipmunk available via a link. Graphic violence on demand.

The following is a picture of my normal plinking and paper punching area as soon from my deck. Not a great picture, but you can get the lay of the land, see a couple of the feeders, and the general backdrop for my shots. The target area is about 17-20 yards away depending on my position. The deck affords me several shooting positions. Anything from a rest on a windowsill, to sitting, standing, etc.

Backyard Target #1

The next picture is an enlarged version of the shooting area. Interesting to note that for the paper targets I was testing several different pellets. Upper right-hard part of the target was with Beeman Silver Ace pellets (15.24 gr), which produced clean cuts, but did not group well. Beeman Crow-Magnum (18.20 gr) and RWS Superdome (14.5 gr) were used in the other areas.

The beer cans were all punched with Crosman Premier pellets – what I like to call the good stuffs! The cans on their side have multiple shot placements in the same hole. The Champaign Girl on the Moon gives me a decent challenge; figure if I can hit this on demand I should be able to dot any Tree Rat right between the eyes.

Backyard Target #2

This one is along the side of my property. A nice 22 or so yard target with plenty of crap for a backdrop. I can actually use this area at night to setup a 12 yard shooting area because there is plenty of light available in my backyard.

Driveway Target #1

The next picture tells the story of the driveway shooting area. You can see that I have a couple of Miller Lite cans setup on some cinderblocks. If you look closely you can see that I was going after the 1 inch by 1 inch barcode area on the right can. I hit it dead center. My shooting position is from a sitting position, using my knee as a rest for my arm/elbow.

Driveway Target #2

This chipmunk was in the wrong place at the wrong time. As I was setting up for another shot, he came barking at me from inside one of the holes on the right cinder block. I do not really wish any ill will towards chipmunks, but these guys are digging like crazy around the foundation of the garage apartment and around the deck. I figured as long as it was going to bark at me, I would bark right back …

Click on the “large” version a super big detailed version. I took Mr. Munk head-on. Was aiming between the eyes, and landed a shot just to the side of his left eye. The little dude flew straight back on impact, and was dead on contact. Completely clean kill shot, surprisingly without any mess. A 22 yard shot between the eyes is really a testament to accuracy of the R1 with Crosman Premier pellets. That or I am becoming a decent shot with the R1.

I also took out a Tree Rat, but that is another story for another day.

Share

Saturday roundup.

I was 1-1-1 on the day. Not as good as I would like, but certainly not terrible for continuing to sort out the new Beeman R1. The “shepherds hook” squirrel from an earlier post decided to come back and make another go of the feeder. Of course, per Calvert Rules [section 4(a) for those keeping score at home], that makes the squirrel a tree rat, and thus fair game.

The varmint decided to climb back up the feeder, and attacked the casing for all its worth in order to get to the tasty thistle. Silly tree rat, the thistle is for the finches.

So while the tree rat was trying to gnaw its way into the feeder, I was taking careful aim, considering the mistake from earlier in the morning. I let loose a Crosman Premier from the R1. The pellet struck with devastating consequences. I dropped the tree rat like a rock, but in typically tree rat fashion, it managed to flip and flop for a few seconds before expiring. There was no way I was going to let this one get away, so I decided to put a second pellet into the critter, but it was really unnecessary, because the first one from the R1 had already done the deed.

In addition to taking on some tree rats, I did some plinking and paper punching. So far, out of the box, Crosman Premier pellets are just a little sort of awesome. I also shot some Beeman Silver Ace pellets (15.24 gr), but they did not group well. They seem decent for paper punching, leaving a nice clean neat hole, but at this point I would not use them to take out tree rats.

Tomorrow is a new day, and I think I still have another unopened tin or two to try in the R1. Plus there should be another gathering of tree rats. Seems like the perfect weekend to me!

Share

Letdown in Texas? I think not.

Texas LogoAs I said in a post earlier today, there will be no Longhorns letdown, complacency, or any of the other crap that those disrespecting Texas hoped beyond all hope would happen in order to let a Big Ten team (i.e. one Penn State) into the Championship picture.

35-3 at the half. Missouri managed to put three on the board as time expired. Total complete ass kicking. Nothing flat about Texas.

Go Longhorns!

Share

Taking what we can get. Dawgs beat Vandy.

UGA LogoGeorgia escaped from playing a sloppy game, 24-14 over Vanderbilt. Head scratcher. Georgia continues to play down to their opponents.

  • Moreno had 172 rushing yards on 23 carries (1 TD).
  • Stafford had two bad interceptions; should have been three.
  • Walsh missed two easy field goals (1-3 on the day).

Georgia dominated the game, but throughout the game, always allowed the Commodores to stay within shouting distance. The rest of the season is not going to be pretty if the Dawgs do not figure out how to finish out drives.

Share

Playing Down.

I hate it when Georgia plays like this. They love to play down to their opponents. You can always tell it is going to go South when the Dawgs open with a nice drive, but fail to score (missed field goal). 14-7 at the half is not going to get it against Vandy. Leave them in the game, and they will think they have a chance to win.

Hope you took the points. Money in the bank.

Share

So it comes to this. No respect for Texas.

If Oklahoma was so f’ing good, why are the ‘Horns not getting any respect this weekend? I have listened to several different radio shows this morning (SportingNews and ESPN Radio) and every one is taking (11) Missouri over (1) Texas. I just don’t get it.

Texas whipped Colorado, but before the game, everyone said that the Buffalos would take it to the Longhorns. Then everyone said that Oklahoma was too damn good and fast for Texas. Now Missouri is going to put up too much offense for Texas? WTF is wrong with the pundits?

The Tigers took one on the chin last week to Oklahoma State. So now Missouri is magically better than Texas? They are just going to waltz into Royal-Texas Memorial stadium in front of 98K fans and whip Texas? Fat f’ing chance.

Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium

Royal-Texas Memorial Stadium will be rocking for #1 Texas!

I do expect a good game, but it seems like we have heard this one before. Go back to last year’s Holiday Bowl, where Texas beat the living snot out of Arizona State. Anyone remember how Texas was going to be flat against the Sun Devils? I already mentioned Colorado, and we all know what happened at the Red River last week. So now Missouri is the underdog that could. Texas will be flat and all the crap. I don’t see it happening. Texas by 13.

Hook ’em!

Share

Saturday morning squirrel count.

SquirrellyWhen does a squirrel become a Tree Rat? When the son bitch raids my feeders, heads for the attic, looks to nest in the garage apartment, or any other form of mayhem and destruction. But I digress, at least for a moment.

This morning as I was walking my dog around the block, I casually counted 25 squirrels. I lost track of the number of nests; they are all over the place. These squirrels are A-OK. They don’t bother me and I don’t bother them. Of course if one of those colonies decides to move into my vacated pecan tree, it will be, how should I say? A bloodletting.

This Saturday morning I am 0-1-1. Not too good. One of the varmints will not show his face around here any more. The other most have pissed himself. He decided to head for one of the birdfeeders. I carefully aimed, but not carefully enough. I hit the shepherds hook, seed went a flying, and the tree rat went a jumping. I bet he will think twice about climbing on the feeder.

It has been a couple of weeks since I shoot the R1, and clearly I need some practice.

Straight shooting. Happy Saturday!

Share

Take the points and run.

UGA LogoAre you kidding me? (10) UGA is giving up 14.5 to (22) Vandy? No doubt, the Dawgs will win, and it may not be close, but I think it is a stretch to think that UGA will route the Commodores by, say, 17 points.

Georgia never wins big against Vanderbilt. Or do they? Recently maybe not, but look at the history in the series over the last eight years.

  • 2007: 20-17
  • 2006: 22-24 (L)
  • 2005: 34-17
  • 2004: 33-3
  • 2003: 27-8
  • 2002: 48-17
  • 2001: 30-14
  • 2000: 29-19

Against better judgment, I say lay the points:   Georgia 33 – Vanderbilt 17.

Go Dawgs! Sic ’em!

Share

Now drinking. Yuengling.

YuenglingIt’s been a while. Since I posted and since I did a flavorful, nectar of the gods post.

I go back and forth (rotate if you will) between lagers, ales, and cheap stuff. Sweetwater 420 is my normal favorite, and Miller Lite is my current cheap staple. In Florida a couple of weeks ago I picked up some Yuengling. Yum! For a lager this stuff is smooth, delicious, and not too terribly fizzy.

For some reason Yuengling is not distributed in Columbus (maybe not even Georgia). I had to bootleg some back from Panama City.

So as I write this post I find myself reaching for a second bottle. While the bottles are good, from a tap Yuengling is the stuff of legends. OK, maybe that is going too far, but it is a nice lager.

Share

Georgia gets back on track.

UGA LogoGeorgia took care of business against the Volunteers from Tennessee, 26-14. The game was not as close as the score; the Dawgs beat the living tar out of the boys from Rocky Top.

UGA out gained Tennessee in Total Net Yards 458-209, First Downs 29-10, and Net Rushing Yards 148-1 (yes, the Junkyard Dawgs held Tennessee to one stinking yard). Georgia still had too many penalties (11 to Tennessee’s 10), but they only gave up 76 Penalty Yards to Tennessee’s 97.

What a total, good old fashion, woodshed beating.

What about the rest of the SEC? I thought the #11 Gators were good, despite their misstep against Ole Miss, but I did not think they were 51-21 over #4 LSU good. Wow. Talking about ass kickings.

What the hell is wrong with the #20 Tigers from the Plains? How do they lose to Arkansas 25-22? Seriously, Arkansas sucks. There is no way that Auburn is this bad.

The Starkville Bulldogs upset #13 Vanderbilt 17-14. I guess the Commodores could not stand prosperity.

South Carolina found enough offense to score ten unanswered points in the fourth quarter to pull of a 24-17 win in Lexington over the Wild Cats of Kentucky. Not a good weekend for feline mascots.

Go Dawgs!

Share

Mr. Squirrel, meet my new Beeman R1.

Let me set the stage. Friday afternoon, within the first few minutes of shooting my new .22 caliber Beeman R1, a tree rat jumps from the garage apartment onto the pecan tree, otherwise known as Tree Rat Bread and Breakfast.

I thought about taking a 15-20 yard shot, but since I had put less than 20 shots through the R1, I decided that I could wait. That was probably for the best because I was not familiar enough with the R1 to start taking out live targets.

A few minutes later, the tree rat thinks about visiting the bird feeder near the pecan tree. He comes down the tree, all embolden, without a care, oblivious to the danger he is about to face. It takes a minute to get the tree rat sighted in my Bushnell Elite 3200, which is the first sign that a 7-21×40 scope just might be too much glass for backyard shooting. The shot was about 12 yards, but I decided that the squirrel could wait. Or maybe he decided that maybe it was not such a good decision to tempt faith and go after the goodness in the feeder. Either way, it took me too long to get the scope adjusted to such a close target.

After finishing up my shooting session, about 30 minutes later, Mr. Squirrel decided he did in fact want to meet my new R1.

Mr. Squirrel meets the Beeman R1

Lights out Mr. Squirrel

I sat on the deck. The tree rat was a good 15-17 yards from me. When he saw me, he froze and me that “what the hell are you doing” look. Decisions, decisions. Go for the goodness in the feeder and face the furry of the R1, or head back up the tree and bide his time for another attempt?

Meanwhile, sitting on the deck, cocked the R1, picked up a Crosman Premier pellet, loaded the gun, and started to sight in the tree rat.

Aim for the ear hole. Wait. Wait. Patience. Must make sure that my first pet control with the R1 is a success. Gently squeeze the trigger. Hell’s furry flies towards the unsuspecting varmint. Thuck! Direct hit!

.22 R1 earns its first squirrel

.22 R1 earns its keep.

Mr. Squirrel is obviously shocked by the impact of the .22 R1. For about 2-4 seconds he remains in place, and falls to the ground. I pick up another Crosman Premier, just in case it is needed. A few seconds later, Mr. Squirrel squirms around for 5 or so seconds, as his life quickly expires.

If you click on the second picture, you may be able to see a little blood around the ear.  This would be the exit point, except the pellet did not pass through.  The .22 caliber pellet did its job. The impact point was on the opposite side, just below the ear, and clearly all the energy was absorbed in the tree rat’s grey matter. Very impressive!

So my shot-to-kill ratio is an impressive 100% – the .22 Beeman R1 earned its keep. Mr. Squirrel will not bother the feeder again.

Share